International Council
for Archaeozoology

Who We Are

 ICAZ's 680+ members come from 68 countries around the world. Members participate in major working group meetings and committee meetings (see below). View a list of current members.

ICAZ is governed by two committees, whose composition changes every four years through elections by the organization's members:

The International Committee is an intermediate, representative body of 25-35 Individual Members elected by the General Membership to ensure that the aims of ICAZ are met at the highest level of international standards. International Committee Members have the right to serve on the Executive Committee, an invitation to and right to attend International Committee Meetings every two years, and the right to nominate and vote for Secretary, Treasurer, and At-Large Executive Committee Members following stipulations in the ICAZ Constitution. The list of current International Committee members is here. Read the minutes of past International Committee meetings.

The Executive Committee oversees the operations of ICAZ. It consists of 10-12 members, including, the President, Vice-President, Treasurer, and Secretary of ICAZ, the Present Conference Organizer, and Immediate Past Conference Organizer, plus two to four at-large members who are members of and elected by the International Committee. Terms of office, nominating, and voting procedures and duties of Executive Committee members are stipulated in the ICAZ Constitution. The list of current Executive Committee members is here. Read the minutes of past Executive Committee meetings.

The Committee of Honor is comprised of individuals who have made a major contribution to archaeozoology and/or to ICAZ. Committee of Honor members are elected by majority vote of the International Committee.